Vicky Bakes … Citrus Meringue Pie

A brand spanking shiny new week for the bake off this week – Botanical Week. I was so impressed that both Mary and Selasi coordinated their flowery outfits with botanical week. The choices for the bake off bake along this week were Citrus Meringue Pie, Herb Fougasse and a 3 tier flower cake. I cannot justify making a 3 tiered cake when there’s no occasion for something so big, so my choice was between the fougasse and the citrus meringue pie.

I’ll let you into a little secret, I have yet to make a successful meringue. So this week I decided to go with the citrus meringue pie and aim to conquer my baking nemesis.

I used this recipe as a guide  to make mini lemon, lime and orange meringue pies, and this recipe for the meringue as I had no cream of tartar as suggested in the first recipe. I think I should have spent a little longer reading the recipes before I started, as I found the curd to be a strange thing to make. I’m not sure if the recipe maybe had a typo as it became very gloopy very quickly, I added extra lemon juice to try and thin it out.It also didn’t include egg yolks, which nearly every other recipe I found afterwards did.

Having said that the curd was pretty tasty, just not as creamy as a normal lemon curd. Overall, I’m chuffed with how these turned out. I actually managed to make meringue!! Yay! There was even a little happy dance once they’d come out of the oven.

The curd is tart and zesty with sweet, fluffy, marshmallowy meringue! And the fact they are mini makes it easier to share, rather than having to eat a whole pie between the two of us. I had to take a bundle round to the family and some into work the next day to stop us from eating them all – On reflection, bite sized citrus meringue pies are equally as dangerous to leave in the house.

I’m a little late in posting this week so Week 7 bake off has already been on TV… Dessert week! Yay! I can’t wait to get stuck into one of those challenges over the weekend.

dsc_0046dsc_0039dsc_0036dsc_0051

Vicky x

One thought on “Vicky Bakes … Citrus Meringue Pie

Leave a Reply

